Post-Festival Wrap-Up

_DSC3501It’s taken me a little over a month to recover from the whirlwind of activity the first part of this year as I prepared for my third time curating the Cape Cod Festival of Arab & Middle Eastern Cinema (my second time producing it as well). There are so many things I learned, great conversations I had, and, as always, moments of joy when I saw audiences connecting with the films I programmed, many of which had never been seen here.

There were a few hiccups (and one startling realization), but overall I am glad to have brought the Festival to audiences in Brewster, Chatham, Dennis, Wellfleet, and Provincetown this year and I am so grateful to all those who supported the film with grants, donations, ticket purchases, and in-kind support.  Below are a few images from the Festival for those who were not able to attend this year.

This project, the Cape Cod Film Society, is about more than just Arab cinema, though. In the coming months, I will be announcing other endeavors related to film appreciation in the Cape & Islands region, so stay tuned. If you sign up to Follow the Blog, you’ll know right away when I post these new announcements, other blog posts, and festival information.

Amazing falafel at Café Vers on Opening Night.

Amazing falafel at Café Vers on Opening Night.

_DSC3454

That’s me with Kevin McLain of the Chatham Orpheum Theater, one of this year’s sponsors and a fabulous movie theater!

IMG_9178

Panel discussion about the role of art in fostering social change and cultural understanding after Jessica Habie’s Mars at Sunrise, featuring Rebecca M. Alvin, Nitin Sawhney, and Jamil Lahham.

IMG_9158

Nefise Ozkal Lorentzen speaking to the audience at the First Parish UU Meeting House in Brewster via Skype.

 

IMG_9179

At Wellfleet Preservation Hall with visiting filmmakers/speakers: Nitin Sawhney (Flying Paper), Steve Intrabartola and Jamil Lahham (Dirty Laundry Day) with me in the middle, and Shiva Balaghi, who spoke about Fifi Howls From Happiness and its subject, Iranian artist Bahman Mohassess.

Leave a Reply

